The Nominees for the 4th annual AIM Independant Music Awards have been announced.

London Grammar have received the most nominations including Best Live Act and Independent Album of the Year, while FKA Twigs, Bonobo, Arctic Monkeys and Future Islands have each received two nominations.

Hyperdub Record’s Steve Goodman is set to win the Innovator Award, while Beggers Group’s Martin Mills will receive the Pioneer Award. The winner of the Outstanding Contribution to Music award is still to be announced.

The winners of the awards are due to be announced at London’s The Brewery on September 2nd. Ticket for the event are already sold out.

The Nominees:

Best Small Label
Marshall Teller Records
National Anthem
Sonic Cathedral

Best Live Act
Dan Le Sac vs Scroobius Pip
Five Finger Death Punch
London Grammar
Sophie Ellis-Bextor

Best ‘Difficult’ Second Album
Anna Calvi – One Breath
Ben Watt – Hendra
Blood Orange – Cupid Deluxe
The Pretty Reckless – Going to Hell
Withered Hand – New Gods

Golden Welly Award For Best Independant Festival
Barn on the Farm
In The Woods
Hadest Working Band or Artist
Gabby Young & Other Animals
Independent Breakthrough of The Year
Courtney Barnett
Future Islands
London Grammar
Young Fathers
Independent Track of the Year
Arctic Monkeys – Do I Wanna Know?
FKA Twigs – Water Me
Future Islands – Seasons (Waiting On You)
London Grammar – Strong
Sampha – Too Much
Twin Atlantic – Heart and Soul
Idependant Video of the Year
Dan Le Sac vs Scroobius Pip – You Will See Me
FKA Twigs – Water Me
James – Moving On
Liars – Mess On A Mission
Royal Canoe – Birthday
Indie Champion Award
Alex Baker, Kerrang! Radio
Camilla Pia, BBC 6Music
Charles Caldas, Merlin
John Doran, The Quietus
Tim Palmer & Clemence Godard, Bird on the Wire
Special Catalogue Release of the Year
Cabaret Voltaire – Collected Works 1983 – 1985
Nightmares on Wax – N.O.W.Is The Time
Small Faces – Here Comes The Nice – Immediate Years Box Set 1967 – 1969
The Twilight Sad: Fourteen Autumns & Fifteen Winters (Expanded Edition)
Various – Purple Snow – Forecasting The Minneapolis Sound
Independent Album of the Year 
Actress – Ghettoville
Arctic Monkeys – AM
East India Youth – Total Strife Forever
Fred V & Grafix – Recognise
Gruff Rhys – American Interior
Kate Tempest – Everybody Down
London Grammar – If You Wait
Mogwai – Rave Tapes
Tune-Yards – Nikki Nack
Within Temptation – Hydra
Independant Label of the Year 
Because Music
Fearless Records
Hospital Records
Ninja Tune
Secretly Group
Innovator Award– Steve Goodman, Hyperdub Records.
Pioneer Award – Martin Mills, Beggars Group
Oustanding Contribution to Music – TBA


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s