The BBC have revealed their Sound of 2016 long list. Compiled by 144 DJs, critics and writers, the list highlights artists expected to become significant within the coming year.

This year’s 15 artists are: Izzy Bizu
, Blossoms
, Alessia Cara,
 Loyle Carner
, Frances
, Jack Garratt
, J Hus
, Dua Lipa, Mabel, Billie Marten, Mura Masa, NAO
, Rat Boy, 
Section Boyz and WSTRN.

Winners of last year’s longlist, Years and Years, had their debut album ‘Communion‘ enter the charts at number 1, and have recently announced their first headline show at Wembley Arena.

Other previous winners have also gone on to great things, Adele, Sam Smith, Haim, Jessie J, and Ellie Goulding all previously winning their respective years.

The 15-act list will be taken down to a final 5 in January, the winner being announced on the BBC Radio 1 Breakfast Show on the 8th January 2016.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s